Fr John Hayes

I was ordained to the priesthood in 1997. I am from Emerald, central Queensland and did various studies and jobs before entering the Seminary at 28 years of age, I trained for 6 years as a missionary in India, and worked there for another 3 ½ years after my ordination.

In 2001, I returned to Brisbane, where I worked in the Cathedral and inner city parishes until August 2004 when I came to Sydney. My first role in Sydney was as Vicar-Rector of the Missionary Diocesan Seminary in Pagewood. There I was given care of the Pagewood Parish in 2006 and have continued as Parish Priest since.

After Father Bill Challenor’s retirement in 2013, God blessed me with the care of Holy Family Parish as well.                                                                              May God bless you all.

Fr John Hayes is also currently the Dean of The Eastern Deanery in the South East Region comprising of 20 parishes. He is residing in the Holy Family Parish Maroubra presbytery.

Fr Daney Irudaya Doss 

Fr Daney is currently Assistant Priest of both OLA Pagewood Parish and Holy Family Maroubra Parish.  He is residing in Holy Family Maroubra presbytery.

Fr Daney was born in India. He studied and trained in the Redemptoris Mater Seminary following the Neocatechumenal Way. He was ordained into the Priesthood on 31st October 2015 at St Mary’s Cathedral, the Archdiocese of Sydney.  He was first appointment as  Assistant Priest was at the Parishes of the Sydney Harbour North; and now has come to assist at Pagewood Parish and Maroubra Parish since March 2018. He was acting Administrator for both Pagewood and Maroubra Parish during Fr John Hayes PP’s long sabbatical from 9th August 2018 to 5th November 2018.


  • Rev John Hayes (From 2006 to the present, Parish Priest)
  • Rev James Gallen (From 1992 to 1994 Administrator) (From 1994 to 2001 Parish Priest)
  • Rev John Bernard Power (From 19 December 1959 to 1961 “Priest in charge”)(From 1961 to 1991 Parish Priest)


  • Rev Norvin Dias (From 2016 to 2017 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev George Azhakath (From 2005 to 2006 Administrator) (From 2003 to 2005, Assistant Priest)
  • Rev Mani Malana (From 2 October 2001 to 2005 Administrator)
  • Rev James Gallen (From 1992 to 1994 Administrator) (From 1994 to 2001 Parish Priest)
  • Rev R. Slattery (From September 1990 to September 1991 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev A. Johnson (From July 1990 to August 1990 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev Kevin O’Grady (From 1973 to 1975 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev D. Paisley (1972 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev M. O’Sullivan (1971 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev E. Sedevic (From 1968 to 1970 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev P. McAuliffe (From 1966 to 1968 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev K. English (1963 to 1965 Assistant Priest)
  • Rev John Bernard Power(From 1961 to 1991 Parish Priest) (From 19 December 1959 to 1961 “Priest in charge”)